Skip to content

Losing Focus

2010/06/02

I am a shame to the barefooting community that I, frankly, never truly considered myself to be a part of. Just a wannabe, that’s all. Don’t get me wrong – I still love being barefoot as much as possible, and I still maintain that barefoot is healthier and more comfortable than wearing modern shoes. It’s just, well, the running thing. I’m so impatient. I’m not into the big distances yet anyway, shod or unshod, and I just want to get any miles I can, and babying the feet until they get accustomed to Five Fingers or total bareness seems a tad inconvenient at the moment.

After this Saturday, I’m not registered for another race until October 24th, though I would like to hit a 15K on Labor Day. Even June to September is a long time, enough to transition and start logging longer miles. And I still wear my Vibrams everywhere. And, and, and…

I’m a big fan of running blogs. They are inspirational and endlessly helpful to this novice runner. This blog, here, started as an account of running and being barefoot, and running barefoot/minimal. I’ve  been contemplating much lately – seriously, like the last day and a half – and I’m feeling 2 Left Bare Feet needs to expand its horizons to more than – but still include – bare feet and running. I need to unlimit myself. That’s not a word, I know, because the spellchecker underlined it in red, but I like the sound of it anyway.

What then, will I blog about? No clue. The less you plan, the more amazing the experience, right?

Now, today is National Running Day, as I have been made aware of thanks to my dailymile.com friends. Seems I will either have to wait until 10:30 tonight to run, or else make laps in the backyard in the rain after the kids are in bed. I had planned to get up at 3am for a mile or two, but I have since learned that when you use your iPhone as an alarm clock, it helps to have the speaker switch turned on.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 2010/06/21 11:50 am

    Hey, I have blog you might like!
    http://runningfool-ootaynee.blogspot.com/

    I have been looking into the wholoe barefoot phenomena mostly because I think it might be able to help my weakness — my ass! I keep getting issues in my piriformis and my glutes. I may need to try barefoot just to see if it makes any difference.

Leave a Reply

