Skip to content

Summer is just another season.

2011/05/30

I’m not going to lie to you and tell you “I love summer!” Not anymore, I don’t. I like it, yes-I would click that “like” button on Summer’s Facebook page, but the excitement I once had for summer has faded with age.

20110530-031756.jpg

The present.

I sit here at this moment, typing on an iPhone, writing a post on a long neglected blog, hoping autocorrect doesn’t twist my words unknowingly, while I watch my 4- and 7-year-old daughters swim joyously in a lake that I’ve been coming to since I was less than a year old. I instantly recognize in them the sheer carefree happiness they have-to be swimming, enjoying the sun and warmer temperatures after being holed up indoors for the last 6 months. It’s what I always used to look forward to when I was a kid, going to my grandparents’ lake cottage in the summer.

The drive here only takes 45 minutes (or less). This is a quick drive, in my view. But 20 minutes into it, the girls were whining in the back seat: “Dad, are we almost there yet?” They’re lucky I don’t drive as slow as MY parents did when I was their age. Or at least it was my perception that my parents were slow drivers. (I swear they will NEVER go more that 1 mph over the posted limit.)

Summer meant no school, no homework, no responsibilities. Sun, bare feet, swimming, playing, spending days at a time at the lake, being a kid. In some ways, it’s strange seeing my own kids here, doing everything I used to do, and with the same attitude: “But I don’t WANT to get put of the water!”

Summer now, as an adult with a job and numerous other responsibilities in the balance, is just another season. I don’t get three months off from work (maybe I should have followed in my father’s footsteps and become a teacher). I still work every day during the week and have one week off during the summer around July 4th. The weekends are the only time I have to take off to the lake with the girls, if I don’t have other things going on, and those weekends dissipate in a flash. Before I know it, the leaves are changing and that pungent aroma of decay is in the air.

What used to be my least favorite season, fall, because it meant summer was over and school was starting, is now my favorite. Fall is a transitional season, like spring, when everything around you is experiencing transformation, and nothing in life can be interesting if it never changes.

The past.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

